Important

Hey. It’s been a while, hasn’t it? Huge apologies. I didn’t mean for that to happen, but it kind of just did. But I’m going to be back (or, at least, I’m going to try). I’m also going to go into why I haven’t been blogging for the last five months or so.


Essentially, I kind of hit a wall. My reviews felt dry and I didn’t really want to write them. It was beginning to bore me, particularly once I started using a specific layout. It just… I don’t know. It wasn’t my speed. I think I’m going to continue doing book reviews (because I have a lot to say about many books), but I’m not going to really use any format (except give my rating at the end, as I always have). I’m going to keep things 100% spoiler-free unless I absolutely have to mention something specific (in which case, it’ll be clearly labelled or in a different section entirely).

Also, I’ve been getting lazier as well as busier. It’s my senior year of high school, so I’ve been kind of busy. (Whoever said senior year was the easiest year was a huge fucking liar.)  And also, I got lazy to do anything not related to school, regardless of what it was. That, obviously, isn’t a good thing, but it happened.

Eventually, I kind of forgot about this blog, or at least let it be put onto the back burner. I didn’t really think about it, so focused on other things and not really caring about this blog. Until a few weeks ago, I didn’t even have any desire to start this back up. It didn’t even really cross my mind that I should until recently. But that has since changed (as you may have guessed).

From mid-December to early January, I had a lot of personal problems going on, and I honestly didn’t know where I was going to end up or how life was going to change for me. A lot had already changed, and I didn’t know if I could mentally and emotionally handle more change. I was in a very bad place. I still kind of am, if I think about it, but I believe that I’m ready to begin the process of moving on. That process starts with this blog and doing something with it instead of just letting it sit here untouched.

So some updates:

I am now eighteen. Not a huge thing (in regards to this blog, at least), but still exciting. I’m looking forward to being able to do things I haven’t been able to before (and blog about them), such as going to concert (which seems like a such a tiny thing but I’ve got strict parents, y’all) or maybe getting my first tattoo.

I still like One Direction (I swear) but some time in early to mid-December, my little sister got me into the kpop group BTS. Since then, I’ve kind of become obsessed with them. Honestly, the music they have produced surpasses the quality of American music by a huge margin. Not to mention the aesthetic quality of their videos, the relevant themes of their videos (many of which have stirred up the conspiracy theorist in their fans), the genius meanings and intentions of their lyrics, etc. And that’s not even getting around to the members themselves (who are amazing, by the way). I highly, highly, highly recommend their music.

The content of this blog is going to change ever-so-slightly. I think I’m going to blog more about things that are relevant to me instead of just sticking to book-related stuff (save for the one or two non-book shit I’ve posted). I’m going to blog more about social issues, though these posts will be fairly rare and often by in either listicle or essay(ish) format. I’m also going to write more about BTS and 1D, though I suppose this should have been expected (particularly about BTS, since 1D is on break still). One thing you can definitely expect is a post explaining my personal theory regarding BTS’s music videos, but it won’t be here for a while; I’m still trying to connect dots.

Book reviews and book-related listicles aren’t going away, that’s for sure. But from this point on, I’m going to primarily focus on books with LGBTQ+ characters and POC characters. I’m going to be giving them ratings based on representation. The reason for this is that I’m a non-black POC in the queer community who’s sick and tired of reading about straight, white, cishet folks all the goddamn time. So I’m going to try to diversify my reading choices and help you do the same for yours.

I think that’s it, for now. Thank you to anyone who read through this. I’ll see y’all soon.

Cass x

Leave a Reply

