REVIEW: “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone” by J.K. Rowling

“Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone” is the first installment of the best-selling series by J.K. Rowlin that I finally got around to reading. And I am pleased to say that it soared past all of my expectations.

** All reviews are spoiler-free unless otherwise stated.


For years, I’ve heard praise for the Harry Potter books and even the movies (of which I’ve seen bits and pieces). For years, I’ve wanted to read them. I’d never really gotten around to it. To be honest, when I read the blurb, it didn’t really grapple me by the throat and scream “READ ME”.

Harry Potter has never played a sport while flying on a broomstick. He’s never worn a cloak of invisibility, befriended a giant, or helped hatch a dragon. All Harry knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley. Harry’s room is a tiny closet at the foot of the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in eleven years.

But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to a wonderful place he never dreamed existed. There he finds not only friends, aerial sports, and magic around every corner, but a great destiny that’s been waiting for him…if Harry can survive the encounter.

But a friend of mine recently lent me a copy and so I decided, you know what, I’ll give it a shot. Due to other priorities, I didn’t get to sit down and read it in one sitting, but I’m kind of glad it didn’t happen that way. Even now, three weeks after I first got it, it still feels like I finished it far too soon.

The first few chapters left me confused and particularly uninterested but after that, I was hooked. I followed the story with eager eyes and kept trying to read even in class when my teacher was saying, “Alright, class, take out your notes…” Whenever I had the chance, I would be reading the book.

Seriously, I’ve fallen in love with this book. I love how I immediately got to know Harry, Ron and Hermione. Plus, each of their characters (as well as all the other characters) had very distinct personalities. I loved that. I loved how the sentences flowed and how J.K. Rowling described everything. I loved how the atmosphere, for the most part, was light and airy. I loved how Harry grew to no longer be afraid of the Dursleys.

Having read all of the Percy Jackson books (including Heroes of Olympus), I noticed some parallels between the two. Percy and Harry are similar in how loyal they are to their friends. Hermione seems a lot like Annabeth to me. Grover and Ron seem to also be a bit similar. Dumbledore could be Chiron. Neville could be Tyson… The characters are very, very distinct despite their similarities, but I liked the sense of familiarity it gave me.

I really, desperately want to get my hands on the second book (forgive me for not knowing the order), but I recently picked up “Looking For Alaska” by John Green, which I’ve been dying to read. I want to finish that so I’m going to read that first. Then I’ll be getting the next second book! But for now, I’ll just bring this review to a close.

Rating: ★★★★★

Recommend? Yes!

Soundtrack: “Resolution” by Matt Corby

Leave a Reply

