Books Whose Covers Lured Me In

I can recall many times I looked at a book cover and had to decide whether it was worth picking up or not. Here’s all those times (or at least, the most memorable times).


We all know that don’t judge a book by its cover saying is bullshit, right? Hopefully, you do, because then you’ll completely understand this. Otherwise… Well, this article isn’t for you. I mean, you can’t deny it. We’ve all done it. You saw a book with an interesting cover and thought, Hm, this looks like it might be good, so you picked it up to read the blurb on the back or inside the jacket/sleeve. Sometimes, the blurb does not disappoint and you find yourself longing to read that book. Other times, the blurb just doesn’t meet your expectations.

Let’s take a journey down Memory Lane (no pun intended, I swear) in which I recount these times. (Also, handy tip: you can check out the books’ Goodreads pages by clicking on the cover.)

#1. “I’ll Give You The Sun” by Jandy Nelson

ill-give-you-the-sun

When I first saw this book, I’d been passing by the shelf for New Arrivals at my library right after school. When I passed it, my first thought was: Wow, that cover’s really bright. And that title’s interesting. Maybe I’ll read that book one day. Then I went about my business.

I couldn’t help but feel even more intrigued by it. Finally, I read the blurb and I knew I wanted to read it. Then I eventually checked it out and began to read it. (Unfortunately, it kind of took me a while because I couldn’t find my library card but, you know.)

I’m currently in the middle of the book and I’m absolutely in love. Not even The Fault In Our Stars managed to find a place in my heart this quickly.

#2. “The Museum of Intangible Things” by Wendy Wunder

museum-of-intangible-things

There’s not much I can say other than: how freaking cute is that? I mean, I’ve got to be honest here, the plot seems a bit cliche based off of the blurb but it still seems really adorable and interesting. And the cover is just ridiculously cute. I love the font and the colors and the background and just… ugh. It’s so cute. I want a copy. Now.

#3. “Say What You Will” by Cammie McGovern

say-what-you-will

The cover really speaks for itself. It looks great. The colors, the doodles, the fonts. It’s absolutely adorable. And the story… Well, it sounds just as cute. I’m a hopeless romantic, so just about any YA romance novel is bound to lure me in (so long as it isn’t too cliche), but this one… I don’t know. There’s just something about this book and its synopsis and cover that makes me just want to read it as soon as possible.

#4. “Falling Into Place” by Amy Zhang

falling-into-place

I thought the cover was very simple and nice and, after reading the blurb, I found it very fitting. Man, I thought Falling Into Place was every bit as interesting upon first impression as it was after reading what it actually was about. I feel very intrigued by the synopsis, and now I’m really eager to read it as soon as possible.

#5. “All The Bright Places” by Jennifer Niven

all-the-bright-places

The first time I saw this was the same way I discovered I’ll Give You The Sun: in the New Arrivals section of my library, right after school. As soon as I saw it, something in my heart told me, “You are going to read this book one day whether you like it or not.” Because I am incapable of telling my heart no, I decided to read the blurb. Immediately, I agreed with my heart. I was going to read this book one day whether I liked it or not. But given my reaction, I’m pretty sure I’m going to like it.

#6. “Graffiti Moon” by Cath Crowley

graffiti-moon

This version of the cover was the first one I saw, and I automatically knew I wanted to give the book a chance. Some gut instinct was telling me I absolutely had to. There’s another version of the cover that’s equally as good but this is the one that grappled me by the shoulders and said, “You will fall in love with this book cover and there is nothing you can do to stop it.” Then, I read the blurb… One word: wow. It’s short but compelling. The blurb is luring me in without trying too hard at it. You know that saying, “always leave them wanting more”? That’s what this book did to me, except on a catastrophic yet completely lowkey level. I must read it.

#7. “More Than This” by Patrick Ness

more-than-this

And here we have yet another novel I discovered at the New Arrivals section at my library. (Seriously, the closest Barnes and Noble to my house is too far for my parents to be willing to drive me. This is just awful. But I suppose having a library nearby comes in handy.)

Anyway, my first thoughts about this book cover was how unique it was to the others on the shelves. I don’t exactly remember what other books were there but I’m sure a John Green book was in the mix. And this book… Well, it was strange. I don’t particularly like the look of the cover, but it was interesting enough to make me stop and stare. Then, out of pure curiosity, I picked it up and read the blurb. It was then I decided: yep, totally reading this. (Someday, at least.)

#8. “The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak” by Brian Katcher

the-improbable-theory-of-ana-and-zak

I don’t know if you noticed but I have a thing for books with doodles on them. And this one kind of just stole my heart. Then the blurb kind of just took hold of my nerd heart and made it fall in love. Like, honestly, I’m not too familiar with the whole gamer world but this just looks way too cute to pass up.

#9. “Starflight” by Melissa Landers

Screenshot 2015-08-01 at 01.12.24

Alright, so, technically, this book isn’t out until February, but I was scoping around Goodreads for something new to read ans stumbled upon this gem! The cover is absolutely gorgeous. I fell in love instantly. And then I read the blurb and I’m kind of wondering if it’s possible to marry a book because I may just want to marry this one. I’m really excited for this one to come out! I can’t wait to read it.

So there you have it! All of these books initially enthralled me solely by their covers. That serves as some advice for authors everywhere: your book cover counts! Make it a good one or get a good artist/graphic designer.

What books have you bought, checked out, or read initially because of the cover? Let me know in the comments below!

3 thoughts on “Books Whose Covers Lured Me In

  1. You like a lot contemporary covers! The “i’ll give you the sun cover ” is absolutely amazing, we all judge books by their covers

    Like

    1. Yeah. As I looked over the list right before I posted it, I noticed that haha and yes, I love that cover (not to mention the book itself is absolutely amazing).

      Like

Leave a Reply

